February 10, 2009

sucking out all my energy

Posted in books tagged , at 9:02 pm by placeinthestars

Last night, I finished Flora’s Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room), which I enjoyed a lot, though I am not sure how I feel about Flora being Butcher Brakespeare’s daughter and head of house Hadraada. I like that Idden showed up, though I feel like both she and Udo kind of got short shrift here, like the story went from being one thing to being something else entirely, which is weird, because the throughline with the Loliga and Axacaya is certainly there. I guess there were unexplored avenues I’d have liked to have seen explored. And yet again, the book ends without Flora having to face Buck about what happened. I really wish there were more of Buck in the books. That said, I would certainly read more of Flora’s adventures, should Wilce produce them. The language play is fun, I like this world, and this conception of magic, and Flora and Udo are kind of adorable.

Then I went to bed at 10:30 [!!!] and woke up every two hours until my alarm went off at 7:25.

*

Leave a Reply

