November 9, 2005

the light in me will guide you home

Posted in books tagged , at 2:29 pm by placeinthestars

So yesterday I finished reading Swordspoint by Ellen Kushner. I imagine I’m one of the few slash fans left who *hadn’t* read it yet. I liked it, but I didn’t love it, and I’m not quite sure why, though I think there may be several reasons.

One is, the copy I bought has a bunch of short stories about Richard and Alec in the back, and I didn’t realize that, so I thought the novel was longer than it turned out to be, so I’m not sure if it’s the actual pacing that’s off (it felt off to me) or my expectations were off, and that’s why it feels as if it ended too abruptly. I may need to reread it, knowing now that the story ends before the book does, and see how I feel.

Two, I felt that there wasn’t enough explanation of Alec’s actual background. I mean, I figured it out from early on, but I wanted the relationship with Tremontaine spelled out in less vague terms.

And three, the whole Michael Godwin thing was a huge red herring. I mean, it did move the plot, because it was Horn’s vengeance against Michael that sparked the whole thing that led to Alec getting kidnapped etc., but I feel like we spent so much time with this character and then his story was wrapped up way far away from the action as if he’d never been important at all. And just when I’d decided I liked him and wanted him to stick around, he disappeared. And then we got all that Ferris stuff which made the villain too transparent and a lot less threatening, I felt.

Hmm…

I did enjoy Alec’s utter bitchiness and Richard’s calm response to it, and Richard’s inexorability once Alec had been kidnapped. I would have liked a little more of their backstory together, some of the romance, I guess.

Anyhow, I’d recommend it, if you enjoy Regency-type shenanigans with a canon m/m relationship front and center. It just felt a little lighter than I’d expected, somehow.

***

Leave a Reply

