January 9, 2005

greater than the whole of the past

Posted in books tagged , , at 1:14 pm by placeinthestars

L. is coming over in a bit and we’re gonna try to marathon through LotR (which means, I’m thinking, FotR, a handful of scenes from TTT, and then the RotK EE, which neither of us has watched yet. I don’t think I could take sitting through TTT again, to be honest. It’s my least favorite of the films, even with all the Theoden and Eowyn action).

I have put down The Persian Boy because Alexander and Hephaistion are fighting and I know that means Hephaistion is going to die soon, and wah. I am so sad (by which I mean pathetic, for being all ‘wah’ over Hephaistion, who’s been dead nearly 2500 years; otoh, I was also ‘wah’ when Josh and Biff came back to Jerusalem in Lamb, so…). Instead I’ve been rereading Lord of the Two Lands, which is Alexander-in-Egypt and the original characters are fun and well, Egypt, which is why I originally bought the book.

***

Leave a Reply

